THE GOUT DIET

Here I will go into further details of what type of foods to avoid and which ones should be on your list of must have foods.

Foods to avoid: 

  • Organ and glandular meats: such as liver, kidney, and sweetbreads (the thymus gland (or, rarely, the pancreas) of an animal).
  • Selected seafood: anchovies, herring, sardines, mussels, scallops, trout, haddock, mackerel and tuna.
  • Alcohol: If you drink alcohol, talk to your doctor about what is appropriate for you
    • Beer,
    • Distilled liquors (to some extent)
    • Wine – The effect of wine is not as well-understood.
  • Meat protein: Eliminate or reduce consumption of meat (especially red meat), fish and poultry to 4 to 6 ounces (113 to 170 grams).
  • white bread,
  • cakes, candy,
  • sugar-sweetened beverages 
  • products with high-fructose corn syrup.

Foods to eat:

  • Protein you CAN have:
    • low-fat or fat-free dairy products, such as low-fat yogurt or skim milk, which are associated with reduced uric acid levels.
  • Complex carbs:
    • Fruits and vegetables – even veggies high to moderate in purine; such as asparagus, spinach, peas, cauliflower or mushrooms (high in purine), and beans or lentils (moderate in purine), are also a good source of protein.
    • Whole grains
    • Water – An increase in water consumption has been linked to fewer gout attacks. Drink eight to 16 glasses of fluids a day with at least half of that as water. A glass is 8 ounces (237 milliliters).
    • Fats – Cut back on saturated fats from red meats, fatty poultry and high-fat dairy products.If you do feel the need to eat these, be sure to buy only lean meats and low-fat or fat-free dairy products.
    • Vitamin C – may help lower uric acid levels. Take around 500-milligram vitamin C supplement. As always consult your doctor first to be sure this will not affect any medications you may be currently on.
    • Coffee –  Again consult your doctor. 
    • Cherries –  some evidence suggest that eating cherries is associated with a reduced risk of gout attacks.

Here are some more foods to consider:

87c5c0e2b0aeb08547e4931259de168c

4252cbf137f2c505303eb9e1c727908d

16e4454e44c533a310f1400cfab11ca1

Sample Menu

Breakfast

  • Whole-grain, unsweetened cereal with skim or low-fat milk
  • 1 cup fresh strawberries
  • Coffee
  • Water

Lunch

  • Roasted chicken breast slices (2 ounces) on a whole-grain roll with mustard
  • Mixed green salad with balsamic vinegar and olive oil dressing
  • Skim or low-fat milk
  • Water

Afternoon snack

  • 1 cup fresh cherries
  • Water

Dinner

  • Roasted salmon (3-4 ounces)
  • Roasted or steamed green beans
  • 1/2 cup whole-grain pasta with olive oil and lemon pepper
  • Water
  • Low-fat yogurt
  • 1 cup fresh melon
  • Caffeine-free beverage, such as herbal tea

ADDED 2-11-17

I mentioned in this article that sugar was to be avoided. Appears another gout sufferer agrees. I have added his link in the “Sources” section so you can read his entire article; you will find the article very interesting. but I am going to post the portion of his article that deals with his sugar statement.

ARTICLE BY Jim Corkern

How I Cured My Gout Naturally Without Drugs

“So, what do I now believe was causing it? Sugar/fructose! Now, before you call me crazy, let me explain my beliefs and evidence.

When you eat sugar, your blood sugar spikes and builds up insulin resistance; this is what causes diabetes according to science. This affects the liver and many other functions within the body, effectively breaking much of the body’s ability to self regulate. You can learn more about it here.

Even my doctor stated that HFCS (High Fructose Corn Syrup) is “of the devil” and that it causes untold havoc on the human body. For the sake of time, you should visit this link, which explains the tests, studies, and evidence that gout is indeed caused by the intake of fructose, glucose and other sugar related factors.

It’s striking that the increase in sugar consumption in the US over the last century matches the increase in gout and many other disease and makes the body acidic.

Now, you also have to take in account carbohydrates, which metabolize into sugar. Since making this discovery, I have limited my carbs to about 75 to 125 grams per day.

Breads, root crops like potatoes, pasta, and any other carbs need to be managed closely. The good news is that I can now eat meats, tuna, eggs and other high protein foods that are low or absent carbs. This was great for me since I love beef, fowl, and pork. Seafood is something I do once a month, so I am not sure how that affects me, and I never become a glutton with seafood.

I even compiled a list of 7 foods to avoid if you have gout. I am sure that if avoided, you will see massive improvements, if not elimination of your gout.

I am not a doctor, but I am a gout sufferer and cutting down sugar, fructose, glucose and any form of sugar to under 25 to 35 grams a day and carbs under 75 grams a day has almost eliminated my gout outbreaks that were a constant in my life for over almost 3 long years. I no longer keep Rx drugs in the house because I can use ibuprofen (OTC) 800 mg, 4 times a day and naproxen sodium (OTC) 500 mg, 2 times a day, or other NSAIDs at the first tinge of pain and stop it in its tracks.

You may have to adjust these numbers to fit your situation, but doing this has made a huge difference in my life. Chances are that if you do follow the same steps I did, you may lose a lot of weight. I have lost almost 60 pounds and most of the time, the attacks never get past the very beginning, and even that is rare now.

I have been over a year now without an outbreak, without swelling and crippling effects of gout. The only time I ever get a tinge of it is when I eat too many carbs or too much sugar.”

Sources:

___________________________________

How I Cured My Gout Naturally Without Drugs  by Jim Corkern

http://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/in-depth/gout-diet/art-20048524

http://articles.mercola.com/gout/diet.aspx

http://www.healthline.com/health/gout/diet-restrictions

http://www.webmd.com/arthritis/tc/diet-and-gout-topic-overview

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

